20 movies to watch with someone you love!

hey babes.. i just had to do this list because I’m always making lists of music and movies and anything else you can make a list about, so I might as well share them with ya’ll

I love watching movies alone but some movies aren’t that great to watch alone… some are perfect for watching with someone you like 😘 but even a few of these I listed are for you to watch by yourself so don’t worry if you are still single or friendless !!!

If you don’t know how to watch with someone who is far away, just make an account on Rabb.it. You can watch anything with strangers all over the world. Just be careful for creeps that want to video chat. Anyway, here’s the list you been waiting for!

1. AMELIE

I watched this movie alone and was okay with that because, the main actress Audrey Toutou is so relatable so I didn’t feel alone watching it (ew cheesy). I’ve seen it about 5 times already because it’s just that good. It’s a cute story of a girl who meets a guy and the way they communicate is so unique. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like this movie, and I don’t wanna know them cuz they’re probably boring lol.

2. SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE

I recommend seeing this with your partner, I wish I did but I ended up seeing it alone. It is such a thrilling romance that you sort of want someone to be next to you so you can both cry or scream or hold onto lol. This is the only good game-show movie romance I’ve seen. If you like Dev Patels acting, you should check out Lion. It’s not as great since there’s a lot of unnecessary parts in it, but it was still a pretty amazing story. Frida Pinto is one of my favorite actresses, but I haven’t gotten a chance to see her in other movies. I heard she will be in the new movie called Love Sonia so I plan to watch that.

3. IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY

Kind of a sad story…. but great and the main characters are easy to watch. I watched it alone and enjoyed it a bunch. It’s more for teens since it has some real cheesy parts, but I’m an adult now and still love the story between the two main characters.

4. SUBMARINE

couple-movies

This is one of my favorites by English director and actor Richard Ayoade. I saw it by myself but it was so cute I wanted to watch it again with someone. I honestly thought it was a Wes Anderson film because it was so artistic to me, but I sort of love it more than most of Anderson’s films. I love Jordana so much too!

5. love exposure 

Love Exposure is one of my favorite movies. It’s one of those Jdramas I will cherish forever. It’s not the cutesy type I’m usually into and it was scary at some points, but that’s what life is all about. So this movie will only be good for those of you who like to get…weird, I guess. I don’t know how else to put it. This is a roller coaster of a film. It can be so funny at some points, then sad and tragic but that is really what made it so amazing and unforgettable. It kind of expresses love in a really honest way, it’s weird sometimes too and exaggerated but the way it was portrayed came out well. I saw it with my mans and it was one of the best moments ever because the ending is super sad and it makes me hold onto those i love lol. I believe we spent 2 days watching it since it’s a longer movie. I really recommend it if you are into strange movies but that interpret love in a beautiful and unforgettable way. P.S, the trailer is confusing and weird but the movie is too good not to give it a shot!

6. Tanna

Tanna was a very beautiful movie I saw last year. It was basically a modern romeo and juliet, modern meaning it was made recently lol. Tanna follows and boy and a girl who are in love, but their tribes do not let them fall in love. They run away, trying to find a way to stay together. The movie is amazing because the people have never acted before but are so amazing and better than most actors today. I really recommend this one if you like movies with beautiful landscapes and nature.

7. I’m a cyborg, but that’s okay.

 

this movie has two super cute characters. It’s also another weird Japanese flick, great for watching with someone else so you can both be like “what just happened” after the movie is over. Still, it’s very cute and unique. If you liked this movie, I recommend watching the show, Q10.

8. Gigante

For some people, Gigante can be a bit creepy. I thought it was cute and the main character comes off as charming to me. He ends up saving the girl in a way, and it’s much better of a story then those where the guy ends up hurting the girl… I don’t want to spoil anything but maybe you’ll understand after watching. There’s almost no dialogue which is not like something I’ve ever seen before. A movie from Uruguay that did not disappoint me one bit and I recommend it since it’s not your typical romance film.

9. Pure Love

I loved this movie and I watched it alone but I would like to watch it with someone so I don’t have to cry alone lol! I really liked this movie because of the main actors, I never imagined they would work so well together, but it happened and I just wish they liked each other in real life since they’re so cute together in this. I just realized how they smile the exact same way from looking at this photo though, but still, their chemistry was amazing. Anyway, you will quickly fall for everyone in this movie. The characters all have unique personalities that leave you with a feeling like you knew them in real life, like they’re your friend too. It’s one of those friendships in movies where you hope to see a reunion for in the future.

10. 5 Centimeters Per Second

Some people say this movie is boring, but what the heck, anytime I ask someone “what do you recommend?” I tend to hate whatever they say suggest. Sometimes you can’t go by reviews because you just might think the opposite of the reviews. You won’t feel the same as everyone else on everything! I suggest watching it if it appeals to you! I know myself enough and what I like, I mean, I spent basically 20 years by myself so I got to know me well. If you don’t have that talent, then just take my word and try out this cute anime lol It’s about two people meeting in the middle. Their story is very simple so the movie is very calm but it can be intense. You kind of root for them, you know? It’s kind of a heart breaking story and you wish things would turn out great in the end for two people, but life sometimes isn’t that easy! If you find it boring, you can at least enjoy the beautiful animation.

11. Today’s Kira-Kun

 

I mentioned this movie before, but I wanted to make a good list of 20 so here it is again! Today’s Kira -kun, or Kyo No Kira-Kun, is about a super awkward but super cute girl named Okaura Nino. She likes birds and has really weird bangs and has made no friends lol She gets bullied and a boy in her class stands up for her. They eventually get close and the movie has a bunch of twists and turns after that. I think I would have cried too but I don’t really like the male lead and he didn’t convince me so much, but still, the story is very cute and I love Iitoyo Marie so much. If you enjoy her acting, you can watch her in Anohana, although shes the supporting role, and Mars: Tada, Kimi wo Aishiteru which is a dark romance (?) and can be triggering!

12. Tomorrow I will date with yesterdays you

image by : storylog.co

I’m still confused from this movie but I liked the feeling of it lol I also love Nana Komatsu so I enjoyed watching her in this. The movie is confusing most likely because the subtitles aren’t correct. Still, even with it’s mistakes, it left me with a semi-shaken up heart so it was really memorable. I enjoyed Nana’s character because she suits this genre pretty well compared to her past dramas.

13. Orange

I just saw this movie recently and I teared up a bit. I asked my boyfriend if he did too and he said no, I said I didn’t either cause I didn’t want to seem so sensitive hehe. Anyway, it’s a tear jerker! A boy and a girl (you guessed it!) end up falling for each other quickly. There’s a twist, of course, most romances come with one especially in jdramas. The twist is… ** spoiler alert ** they’ve met before! They like each other right away because they have a past. The girl knows more about their history, and thus has to end up saving him. I liked this movie so much but I might end up watching the anime version just to see for myself which one is better. One of my favorite Japanese actresses was the female lead too and I really liked her acting in this movie.

14. The Notebook

What’s a movie list without The Notebook! Girls cry, guys cry! Tears don’t make a movie great but to me, it sometimes tells me I enjoyed it. The notebook is such a beautiful romance movie. I put it off for years thinking it was just a chick flick. I’m not wrong, it is and it looks like one, but this one is so well made. I love the chemistry with Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams and I think that’s what made this movie so great. Also, the old couple made this movie what it is too, I can’t forget that. Don’t be like me and not watch this movie just because it looks like those bad romance movies, cause it’s not bad at all.

15. Paper Heart

I feel like paper heart would have been so amazing if it were longer. I was really looking forward to the documentary part of it but it turned more into a story. It was cute and worth watching, nonetheless. Charlene Yi is a comedian I followed on twitter and my boyfriend suggested we watch this and I was shocked that it had her in it! I knew she was a comedian but I thought she was just on twitter and only did stand up, I didn’t realize she had her own movie. I was surprised at how freaking adorable she is and how funny she is too. The story/documentary is about searching for love and if it exists. Mikey Cera is in it so it’s a bit more interesting to watch them two act together (if it was an act, I’m not sure).

16. 500 days of summer

this is a cute movie I really enjoyed because I was really into Zoey Deschanel after watching her in New Girl. I thought this movie was cute and creative, artsy and had a good message. The message being that, just because someone likes a lot of the same things you do, doesn’t mean everything in your relationship will turn out perfectly. It’s a good movie to watch with your boyfriend, but maybe it can break ya’ll up so watch it by yourself or with friends first lol

17. The Shape of Water

art from benji!

I probably annoy my mutuals since I mention this movie so much (maybe just twice I’ve mentioned it lol) but I loved it! It was really raw I guess and intense so some parts weren’t making me happy but I still saw it as a romance and fairy tale. I wish there could be a version of this movie but not so real and gross. The gross parts was just the general or whatever he was and how strict and literally gross he was. Anyways, you can just watch Beauty and The Beast if you want something more cute and innocent lol

18. Ponyo 

this leads me to my next movie, Ponyo! This studio ghibli film is one of my favorites. I guess you can say it’s like The Shape of Water, but happy and cute and less dark. I really love stories of human and non-humans interacting. I love how studio ghibli makes main characters girls at times because what the heck we need more girls being weird, being heros and being the main part of the movie! I loved watching this with my boyfriend and I kind of want to rewatch it now heeh

19. Eternal sunshine of The Spotless mind

I liked this movie, it’s not my favorite but I would love to watch it with someone I love lol so here it is on this list bleep bloop

20. Koi no Katachi

This movie is about bullying and the consequences that come with it. It’s also a romance and much more, but I kind of forgot what happens lol. I remember really liking it and wanting to re-watch it. I really liked the story and at one point my heart was beating a lot because of what the outcome of the story could be.

 

I don’t want to not mention these : Hear me, Kimi No Na Wa (Your Name), Titanic, and Blue Valentine (may be the cause of a breakup so watch out if you’re going to watch with your partner!)

Thank you for reading! After going through this list, I realized I want to re-watch a lot of them so hopefully you find something you like or want to re-watch too ❤ If you want, you can add me on rabb.it (watch tv together) or letterboxd (movie lists) so let me know or just find the links on my blog!!!


Love K.

6 responses to “20 movies to watch with someone you love!”

  1. OMG You Name MADE ME CRY A RIVER

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg honestly I can’t remember what happened in that movie but I know it was so amazing and beautiful I might have cried tbh I can’t remember. It’s just so beautiful not to feel a certain way u know hehe

      Liked by 1 person

  2. there are so many good ones!!
    personally, i hated 5 cm per second lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg thanks! And omg I liked it so much I thought it was cute and calming lol. What didn’t you like?

      Like

      1. idk it was kinda confusing and i had to read a bunch of reviews to get what happened. Also, the ending was unsettling. Like it wasn’t happy or anything

        Like

      2. Oh true I get what u mean actually but I guess I like endings like that kind of like cliff hangers

        Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com